Newb here looking for help.

Monday

Newb here looking for help.

Post by Monday » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:56 pm

Hey Guys,
First off I wanted to say awesome webpage. I have been spending the last few hours exploring the different sections. You guys have a wealth of information and seems like a great smaller community with a good group of guys.

I wanted to signup to get some info from the experts in my area ;). I am completely new to the sport and just picked up a victoria woody to start learning the basics. Then once I get confident in sand skimming I will be upgrading to a board I can start trying waves on.

My question is where is a close place to start with great sand for beginning. I have searched the forums and only found suggestion was hmb and capitola. I visited capitola this weekend but the shoreline seemed so over ran with tourists that i didn't give it a try as kids were everywhere. I noticed there were better breaks a bit south but the sand seemed the have ping pong sized pebbles ever foot or so. I live in downtown sf(SOMA) so i was hoping something closer to the city. I have read great things about bakers for wave stuff but didnt know if flatland was good there and if trying to learn there I would be in the way of more experienced people trying to get runs in.

Any help would be great or tips you may have.

Thank you!
Ryan

selvaskim

Re: Newb here looking for help.

Post by selvaskim » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:14 pm